h1

Healing Questionnaire

10/28/2009

I have about three serious healing posts jumping around in my head, but I figured I’d fill out Jessabelle’s questionnaire, first, since it looks like fun.

  • What is the name, class, and spec of your primary healer?
    Uruz, Paladin, Holy (51/17/3)
  • What is your primary group healing environment? (i.e. raids, pvp, 5 mans)
    25-man raids, normal and hardmodes
  • What is your favorite healing spell for your class and why?
    Beacon of Light, if that counts!  (Paladins only have three heals, lemme be a little creative. LOL)  Even before they buffed it to include overheal, I adored being able to Beacon one tank while I healed the other.  Now that it counts overheal, it’s an even better tool on all fights and I always, always have it up.
  • What healing spell do you use least for your class and why?
    Frankly, I barely use Holy Shock in raids, unless I’m running from something or I’m liable to die.  It just isn’t mana efficient and doesn’t heal for enough for anything other than an emergency heal.
  • What do you feel is the biggest strength of your healing class and why?
    Throughput, especially as a tank healer.  No other spell can touch the sort of throughput we can pump out with Holy Light, which gets extra umph from the glyph splash.  If I’m healing two tanks at once, especially, my throughput is incredibly high.
  • What do you feel is the biggest weakness of your healing class and why?
    Movement fights.  Not the ones where I have to be constantly moving in a planned manner (I actually find Hodir-25 hardmode very easy to heal), but the ones where  you are required to move often, but in a random fashion to avoid things.  All I can do is Holy Shock once and hope I crit for an instant Flash of Light.  Guh.
  • In a 25 man raiding environment, what do you feel, in general, is the best healing assignment for you?
    I think this is pretty obvious, but I love tank healing, especially when there’s only one tank and spikey raid damage.  Well, okay, healing two tanks at once is enjoyable, too.  LOL  But obviously, I work best as a tank healer.

  • What healing class do you enjoy healing with most and why?
    Resto druids!  Oh dear gods, do I love me some Trees.  They give me so much lovely padding, which is a nice complement to my massive “heal bombs.”  My favorite 10-man hardmode set-up is a Healadin and a Tree; the Tree gets to through HoTs everywhere and the Healadin shots off quick top-offs.
  • What healing class do you enjoy healing with least and why?
    I hate saying it, but Resto shaman, frankly.  They just don’t have any synergy for me.  We always step on each other’s toes when it comes to healing the raid, their Mana Totem doesn’t stack with my Wisdom buffs and Earth Shield just doesn’t do a thing for me.  😦
  • What is your worst habit as a healer?
    Hrm…  it used to be not casting Divine Plea enough (bad habits from pre-mana nerf!), but now I’m not sure what is.  I still have issues with timing my recasts of Beacon of Light and Sacred Shield, but PowerAuras has helped that a lot.  I think it’s probably that I try to be too reactive in my healing to save mana.  My reaction times aren’t the best, so it can be a bit messy.
  • What is your biggest pet peeve in a group environment while healing?
    It’s going to make me sound like a snob, but I hate when people don’t pull their own weight.  I should be doing a huge portion of the raid healing as someone assigned to tank healing.  And I’m talking about more than just numbers (although it’s a really bad sign with the tank healers are doing twice the healing that the raid healers are in damage heavy fights!); if you’re letting people die or barely keeping them alive while forcing others to top them off, you should not be raiding with me.
  • Do you feel that your class/spec is well balanced with other healers for PvE healing?
    Frankly, no.  LOL  The ease of which two healadins can keep up all three tanks on Beasts-25 hardmode compared to the struggles other classes would go through makes me feel like, despite the changes Blizzard has made, the scales are just tipped completely in favor of healadins for serious 25-man progression.
  • What tools do you use to evaluate your own performance as a healer?
    Not letting the tank(s) die is #1 and not letting myself die is #2.  After that, mana efficiency is a big one.  If I’m running out of mana on a fight, there’s issues there.  Often times I take into consideration my overhealing numbers (from World of Logs afterwards) when it comes to mana efficiency.  After that, I look at how much time I’m spending doing raid healing, so see if I can up that more.  Everyone hates the HPS/HPM/HPE numbers, but they -are- important.  If you’re really acing those statistics, you can bring less healers, which makes fights faster.
  • What do you think is the biggest misconception people have about your healing class?
    People seem to really think that all we do is stand around and press one key, but it’s really not true anymore.  We now raid heal -while- tank healing or heal two tanks at once, cycling through our two main heals (Flash of Light and Holy Light) as the situation warrants.  We also have cooldowns that keep the tanks or the raid up that we need to think about.  It’s not a mindless job in any respect, as much as I might joke about my “22222222” spam.  😛
  • What do you feel is the most difficult thing for new healers of your class to learn?
    Learning to use the tools in the most maximized way can be really hard.  I see a lot of new Healadins resorting to TBC Flash of Light spamming on the tank, which is just not efficient or helpful anymore.  While the tools aren’t as numerous as what other healing classes have, that just means that we have to be even more aware of the best ways to use what we have.
  • If someone were to try to evaluate your performance as a healer via recount, what sort of patterns would they see (i.e. lots of overhealing, low healing output, etc)?
    I have overheal like you wouldn’t believe.  LOL  Beacon of Light usage tends to up my overhealing even more than what you’d stereotype a Healadin as having.  You’d also see my healing output as being all over the map, not just from fight to fight but from attempt to attempt as well.  I tend to make myself the “pitch hitter” of healing, so sometimes I’m not needed for anything other than keeping the tank up, which makes my numbers pretty low.  Also, my Val’anyr procs account for a huge amount of absorption, which isn’t seen on Recount.  (On World of Logs, my healing numbers shoot up quite a bit because it does track absorption.)
  • Haste or Crit and why?
    Both!  Why choose one or the other?  And seeing as I stack INT like it’s going out of style, I tend to shy away from MP5 in favor of items with both on them.
  • What healing class do you feel you understand least?
    Oh, geez….  Well, this is a hard one for me, as I raid on all four healing classes (Healadin, Tree and Disc priest are mine, I raid once a week on my SO’s Resto shaman), but I’d probably say Holy priest?  I read up on them a lot and know what they can do, but I’ve never liked raiding as one, so I guess that counts?  LOL
  • What add-ons or macros do you use, if any, to aid you in healing?
    Total truth time:  I -hate- healing add-ons, Healbot and Clique especially.  I feel that they promote laziness and bad habits like keyboard turning.  I also don’t like Grid, but that’s more because my brain doesn’t work well with blocks.  I use Pitbull for my raid frames, which I absolutely adore, and PowerAuras to track my cooldowns.  All my other add-ons are mostly for looks.  LOL  Oh!  I use PallyPower, too!  How any paladin lives without that is beyond me.  For macros, I don’t use many.  I have DBM timers macro’d to just about anything with a time set to it and I have my on-use Spellpower trinket macro’d to my Divine Plea.  Veeeeery handy.
  • Do you strive primarily for balance between your healing stats, or do you stack some much higher than others, and why?
    I go for balance between regen and throughput.  That means that I gear towards crit/haste mostly, while gemming for INT.  I don’t ignore MP5 totally, but I try to get as little as I can get away with and not go OOM.

This was fun!  Very interesting reading other people’s responses, too.  🙂

4 comments

  1. Nice idea about spell power trink with dp… i cant believe I never thought about that… I usually try to time my wings around dp


    • Yes! I forget the name, but I have the Triumph badge one. The use effect is for a lot of spellpower and it’s on a two minute cooldown, so I have it macro’d to my Divine Plea. If I have to Plea before the 2 minutes is up, I’ll pop my wings, too.


  2. I wish questionnaire had a wmo/wol ehps best ranking per boss.

    I mean, moar hps should have some numbers to show off 😛 not to mention, id like to see where the priest bloggers fall against the softer spoken pros out there.

    -bakunin


  3. […] Return of the Healing Questionnaire 02/08/2010 It’s interesting to go back and read what I wrote, although it’s mostly my writing style that gets me.  (My writing seems to have gotten more […]



Leave a Reply

